Emailing Niagara College We Want a Student Apprenticeship JOB Program for Sally’s Garden Helpers To Mentor Teens and ADults


Emailing Niagara College We Want a Student Apprenticeship JOB Program for Sally’s Garden Helpers To Mentor Teens and ADults

 

horticultural garden co op technicians wanted sally's garden salvation army volunteers students academic credit program needed the idea girl says

horticultural garden co op technicians wanted sally’s garden salvation army volunteers students academic credit program needed the idea girl says

horticultural garden co op technicians wanted sally’s garden salvation army volunteers students academic credit program needed the idea girl says

 

pic source:

http://www.niagaracollege.ca/content/Programs/FulltimeStudies/HorticultureandAgribusiness/HorticulturalTechnicianCoop.aspx

 

the idea girl says

 

It’s one thing to say you have an idea at the FSNFE meeting, it’s another thing to take a step, email the garden co op program people at Niagara College and explain what you need or require to successfully run the Sally’s Garden Community Program at the Salvation Army.

Anne’s in charge of it and I really didn’t have anything to do with it until now.  I have an idea on how to get student’s an academic credit, and a Job using Government Grants for a Co – Op Program that will run from May until October or whenever our Gardening Season ends.

As you all know I’m always blogging my “ideas’ on here and on my other blogs on wordpress (yes I have SEVERAL of them!).

I also video blog my ideas too on youtube.  I’m one of those people that loves to send out confusing emails to people asking if they can help or suggest who to talk too whenever I have an idea.

I have issues trying to write properly sometimes due to my brain injury so please forgive me if I get this all screwed up!

 

I had an issue where I got a bunch of people “upset” because I couldn’t communicate via email – properly.  Getting my idea across to people without them thinking i’m droppping the ball in their court with no assistance.

I was one to send a zillion emails to corporations, movie stars, media you name it i’ve emailed them about any “idea” I come up with.  And then I BLOG it so I can remember doing it. LOL

This time I emailed Niagara College with my idea to use students as volunteers or paid employees to help assist with growing the 12 plot gardens at “Sally’s Garden” during the spring, summer, fall  at the Garrison Rd Salvation Army here in Fort Erie.

I’ve asked if they can do it like FESS Fort Erie Secondary School does their academic credit program with students that work in the schools restaurant and prepare, cook and serve at our weekly community kitchen luncheon’s here in Fort Erie, Ridgeway, Crystal Beach.

 

I’ll let you know if they pass me on to another person or tell me it’s not possible at this time.

I just looked at the student government grants, and the deadlines for those are jan 30, 2015 so I’ve missed out on THAT. But there’s gotta be some other “student” program.  I found one that will pay $2 an hour for students 15 to 30. 🙂

They used to pay half the wages.

They also have grants where the students get an academic credit for school so that’s the BEST one for this idea…. for now… so i’m going with that one.. asking for a co op student gardening, horticulture.

I’ve also mentioned were in the early stages – concept drawings for the community kitchen to be built at the salvation army here in fort erie.  I wonder if we can use architect students and construction persons needing an academic credit to help out.

 

I also figured why not see if we can get others to volunteer their time and energy.

Retired construction persons, electricians, people who are licensed that can donate their time to help build this project, or can work for a set price that will be very affordable for those doing the “fundraising” for the building expenses for this community kitchen project.

 

I’ll get back to you on that one after I get a clearer picture of what we will need to do this “community kitchen building project.”

this is the department I emailed:

quote

GREENHOUSE TECHNICIAN (CO-OP)

College: NIAGARA
Program Title: GREENHOUSE TECHNICIAN (CO-OP)
Program Code: 0737
Credential: DIPLOMA
Program Level: POST-SECONDARY
Program Type: CO-OP
Language of Instruction: English
Entry Level: ENTRY LEVEL 1
Highly Competitive: No

 

http://www.ontariocolleges.ca/ProgramDetail/AGRICULTURE-ANIMAL-RELATED-PRACTICES-HORTICULTURE-LANDSCAPING/_/N-1z13r82Z1z140wx

